Country English Cottages

Read 25 Reviews of Country English Cottages to check if it is legit.

Website & Phone: North Irish Hollow Road 2800 Galena 61036 United States
 http://english-country-cottages.co.uk

Loren
4 months ago

Efforts to change a booking to another date have simply got nowhere. E-mails ignored. Kept endlessly on hold by "Customer Services". Promise on Twitter to return call not honoured.

Unable to go due to Covid-19 and money now probably lost.

This appears to be a very badly managed company which simple does not care about its customers in these difficult times. I will not be booking with them again.

,

Larry
4 months ago

This is scary. I haven't even had my holiday with English Country Cottages yet and just the mention of their Customer Service makes me cringe. 2 emails, 4 telephone calls with varying duration from 12 mins through to over 1 hour, all unanswered makes me wonder what I have signed up for. This company are the absolute pits! Please read a number of these reviews before you book with ECC, then DON'T book with them!

,

Gustavo
5 months ago

Terrible service. Wrote by email and by post to complain about our cottage in Cornwall which we rented in August from ECC and included photographic and other evidence. Cut off twice now in telephone conversations with staff and no proper explanation as to whether or how my complaint is being actioned.

,

Ryan
5 months ago

By mistake I booked the wrong starting date so I immediately emailed English Country Cottages.
I realised I would have to pay an administration fee. I had no reply except an email to say a reply would be in a couple of days. I sent further emails which were not answered except with the same reply. I also made repeated phone calls to both phone numbers I was given. With some calls I waited over an hour but all calls were not answered. I spoke to the cottage owner who tried to help by making several attempts to call English Country Cottages herself but she also could not get a reply on her owner's direct line. We have rented cottages for over 40 years and have never had a problem with a company. If I had read other bad reviews for the company I would not have booked with them and certainly won't in future.

,

Reynaldo
5 months ago

I have no words to explain how bad this company is!!

,

Marjorie
5 months ago

I booked accommodation to to stay with my family, I am in Australia, and the holiday in May was cancelled due to covid.
The 4 nights cost over 1200 pounds,
They do not return calls or emails, and if I do ever get through to anyone they just put me back on hold and never answer again.
Scumbags, dont trust them.

,

Peter
5 months ago

Warning do not use this company they will take your money and cancel holiday just days before you go,thank goodness we paid by credit card so eventually we should get money back.The holiday we booked in Suffolk had apparently never been available even though site was and is still showing it as available,this company part of Hoseasons are a disgrace to the travel industry in what are difficult times for all.

,

Lester
5 months ago

Booked a lodge for sisters 65th birthday on 4th september. today got phone call cancelling saying hadnt been open all summer. why take our booking and our money last payment only went out last week.Very disappointing trying to find something else now. Obviously trying to get more money for the lodge as everyone on staycation. would not book with them again. beware. this is happening to quite a few people we understand some with only a few days before they were due to go.

,

Leanne
6 months ago

Do not use – this company is a scam.

Booked a 2 night break in August – phone was answered relatively quickly. They took full payment and said they would email confirmation but it never came. Money was taken from my credit card and there was absolutely no way of contacting them again. I waited on the phone for over 2 hours at a time, sent a number of emails and no response to anything!!! Thank goodness for Barclaycard fraud team who managed to get my money back for me.

AVOID AT ALL COST!!!!!!

,

Daniella
6 months ago

Terrible – same as so many others! Needed to cancel an 80th birthday party accommodation due to Covid worries. 3 emails and no response, 2 calls for 40 minutes – cut off both times. I then went on Trustpilot and was horrified at the reviews so despite cancelling through the website, I got no confirmation email and felt I should to cancel my bank card to make sure they didn't take payment. What a hassle! So far we've lost 拢450 deposit and have not been able to find out if we have any other options. I just wouldn't feel secure using this firm ever again.
For note, we booked another holiday we needed to cancel due to Covid through Classic Cottages, and the service and contact was amazing – they get a big thumbs up!

,

Emma
6 months ago

If I could give zero stars I would. We booked and paid in full for a cottage, only a week or so ago, for the end of August. Unfortunately, and due to an unexpected redundancy, we could do with cancelling. I have emailed English Country Cottages twice… no response, I have telephoned 6 times, each time being on hold for at least an hour…. no answer. So I spoke to the owners of the cottage who explained that they themselves do not have any contact with the company as they never answer a call or respond to emails. It begs the question as to why they continue to rent their property through the company, as we certainly wouldn鈥檛, I would avoid them completely and take my business elsewhere. What an absolute shambles of a company! Word of warning: DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY AT ANY TIME!

We feel very foolish and duped and wish we had read their other reviews before booking. I will take this matter further, without doubt. Companies like this one deserve to go bust!

,

Kyla
6 months ago

Appalling service. We booked with English Country cottages in May for the 8th August for a week in Cornwall. This was for my son's wedding, so we didn't have to travel 6 hours there and back. We'd paid the deposit and then the next thing we know 3 weeks before we're due to go. That they had cancelled the booking because of a computer glitch, they didn't even contact us about this we had to contact them when we saw the full payment didn't go out. They said they'd get back to us to confirm the booking was still on but never replied to us. Meanwhile we went direct to the owner of the property who told us that when cottages.com cancelled the booking another company booked and they would get priority because it was cottages.com mistake. Meanwhile we had still heard nothing from cottages.com, not even to say they had cancelled the booking and are trying to look for alternative accommodation. We tried to look ourselves for other accommodation but everything was booked up in cornwall since it was so close to the date. Literally a week before we were due to go, they offered their apologies and said they'd give us a refund for the deposit but no compensation, even though it was all their fault and it's left us with nothing. Their communication was dreadful and they don't pay any liability for their own company mistakes.

,

Elliott
6 months ago

As a cottage owner the communication is dreadful. I know its been tough during Covid but I have not once got through to customer services and its our livelihood.
I have cancelled weeks they leave as un available costing huge loss of revenue. never seen my account manager in 2 years and have three properties. Email notifications been down over 12 months. Dreadful Company.

,

Jaime
6 months ago

I have been trying to get through to cancel a booking for September since the end of June. I am sending weekly e-mails and just get the standard reply that it will be dealt with within 48 hours. I have also spent many hours trying to get through on the phone, I suspect they are not even answering calls so I have given up. I am considering cancelling my bank card so the payment will get rejected when it is taken. I appreciate these are difficult times for holiday companies but this customer service falls far short of what customers should expect. I will certainly not use this company in the future.

,

Matthew
7 months ago

Update: managed to find owners telephone number whom I contacted – explained the situation. She apologised but said she instructed English Country Cottages that she was no longer letting Henley Cottage out and they should not have been advertising it as such! Not her fault, just hope no-one ends up knocking on her door expecting their holiday in Henley Cottage! So, basically they have taken our deposit knowing dam well the cottage is no longer available ( is it any wonder one loses faith with holiday companies – nothing ever changes, it seems they get away with murder, if we didn鈥檛 pay our council tax, we would be hauled before the court!). Gone through credit card company who, hopefully, can eventually reimburse us. So please do NOT even bother trying to phone or e mail English Country Cottages as you will never get through and no-one ever eplies to your e mails – Covid is no excuse for all of this distress and stress to us and others in this situation through no fault of their own, but trusting a once reputable holiday company – Absolutely SHAMEFUL!

,

Randal
7 months ago

I have been trying to cancel thatched cottage stern field since the beginning of June email 30 emails so far sent letters one of which cost me yesterday 拢6 50 just to make sure that they received it phone call after phone call they just disconnect me private messages on messenger that are totally ignored I have even tried to cancel the cottage via hoe seasons and cottages .com and tried to phone the head office all the phones are not working I am due to go on holiday in September so I then found the owner's contact details rang her and she said that even she could not get them what are we going to do other customers now tell me that they are having the same problems and are now being asked to pay the full amount of the balane even after trying to cancel

,

Jayme
7 months ago

Still waiting for 拢274 refund from March this year, over 3 months now. The real issue with this company is the inability to communicate with them. The contact telephone number is never answered and the call back option has a "fault" with it. The e mail contact address given will bounce you back an e mail telling you that your query will be answered within 24 hours although due to Covid likely to be 48hrs, to date the query has never been addressed despite sending follow up e mails which get the same automated response. This company seems to have done everything it can for their customers to be unable to get in contact with them, this is truly shocking!

,

Catrina
7 months ago

I would advise strongly against using them. We booked a beautiful place with a swimming pool and sauna immediately upon the Covid travel plan being lifted. It cost a lot of money but was worth it as (I won鈥檛 go into details) but my family really needed a break. Was in their luxury range. They confirmed and took payment. One week later we have been told the place is not available and are being asked to pay the same amount for a place half the size with no character, no sauna and no swimming pool. The poor women I keep talking to says she can鈥檛 escalate my complaint and the managers are too busy to talk to customers. She has been told I am not entitled to any compensation as their conditions state they can cancel at any time if they have made an error. So basically you can be on your way to one of their places and get a call saying it is no longer available as they made an error and just have to turn around and go home. I guess they just expect you to sleep in your car in that situation. Can鈥檛 advise enough against using this company.

,

Meaghan
7 months ago

I have used this company before and never had an issue, however, things have really changed now and they are now amongst the worst companies for customer service I have had the misfortune to deal with recently.
I booked a cottage and paid the deposit, with the full amount due in June. On May 14th they issued an email saying the due date had been extended to Aug 1st, or I could cancel and get a full refund.
I gave it a while and some thought and decided I would get a refund.
So far I have sent them 4 emails, been on hold for 90 minutes, and had an on-line conversation on FB messenger, all with no response from the company.
I have now sent them a recorded letter saying I wish to cancel, but I doubt if they will respond to that either.
The bottom line is AVOID this company at all costs.

,

Terrence
9 months ago

Avoid ! Thieves . Refusing refunds due to covid . 45 minute wait time on call . Even when this is over this is one of the companies that deserve to go under . Criminals !

,

Janell
10 months ago

Part of cottages.com.
Please don't book with them as they refuse to give refunds and attempt to force you to rebook by threatening to just keep your money if you don't.
Immoral and illegal.

,

Daniela
10 months ago

Beware – part of cottages.com
Read the reviews for the above company and stay away.

,

Kenneth
11 months ago

Just gave them 15 weeks notice of cancellation for one of their cottages. Want to charge 100GBP cancellation fee!!! Not happy.
No problem with opposition.

,

Skyler
2 years ago

Good range of properties, competitively priced

Have used ECC several times now… They always have a wide range of properties to choose from, in good locations, and reasonably priced.

Having not had any issues, I cannot comment on their customer service but have always found their website user friendly and they booking process seamless and professional.

,

Marjorie
2 years ago

I've used this company sporadically for the last 30 years and always been satisfied.

However, earlier this year we stayed in a property through them. We do not believe the description gives potential holiday makers the information to decide on the suitability.

On our return we wrote a constructive critique and got a standard letter back. Having chased for a Reevoo link for the second time we left an objective review.

Not only was our review not published but 2 other ' less than perfect reviews' were removed. All would have been 'nice to knows' prior to booking.

This makes a mockery of the customer care and service and of their review system in our opinion and we would not use them again

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *